Baked eggs…

I’m really into tomatoey things at the moment – warming, slightly spicy tomatoey things packed with veg. Add a few chick peas and it’s heaven on a plate! So this evening I decided to make baked eggs – I started off making a spicy ratatouille-type base with onion, courgette, aubergine, tomatoes, chick peas and some chilli and garlic. Then I put that into a warmed baking dish and cracked a couple of eggs in, and baked it all in the oven for about 20 minutes. The yolks were slightly overcooked – I could have taken it out maybe three or four minutes earlier – but I have a bit of an aversion to runny egg white and I didn’t want to risk it! It was gorgeous, though – I’m absolutely stuffed and it’s all good veg and protein!

3 thoughts on “Baked eggs…

  1. Allie, I followed you over from Biomouse's site. I have been watching Hell's Kitchen and they have some kind of baked egg dish. I have never seen it before, but I think I might enjoy it. I might make two different pans so that hubby could have it a bit runny and I could have it more firm. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

